18, 19 & 23 August 2018

Thank you for watching!


11 countries ready for Young Musicians 2016

Posted 23 May 2016 at 10:40

After hosting the event two years ago, WDR was chosen as the host broadcaster again for the 2016 edition back in late 2014, and preparations are now will underway for this year's competition in just over four months' time. A total of 11 countries will take part this year:

  • Austria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • San Marino
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden

What's new in 2016?

Changes for this year include the removal of the semifinal or 'pre-round' stage. All 11 participants will take part directly in the final, and the jury will make their decision based on this performance only. Pieces for the final show are permitted to be between six and 6:30 minutes in length.

There will also be more interaction with the jury in this year's competition, with several members invited to comment after each performance on what they liked, and to give their advice to each participant for the future.

News 2016Young MusiciansCologne
Share this story