18, 19 & 23 August 2018

Thank you for watching!


14 Countries in 2014

Posted 30 January 2014 at 10:00

A total of 14 countries have signed up to take part in Eurovision Young Musicians this May, hitting the maximum number allowed in the format.

The participating countries are:

  • Austria (ORF)
  • Croatia (HRT)
  • Czech Rep (CT)
  • Germany (WDR)
  • Greece (HPRT)
  • Hungary (MTVA)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Moldova (TRM)
  • The Netherlands (NTR)
  • Norway (NRK)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  • Sweden (SVT)

Returning countries

Hungary returns to the competition for the first time since the year 2000, when they were represented by Ödön Rácz. Sweden last took part in 2010, whilst Portugal has not entered since their debut in 1994. 

Debut nations

Malta and Moldova are welcomed to the Young Musicians family in 2014. Both countries have competed in the Eurovision and Junior Eurovision Song Contests, but will make their debuts in this classical competition in May.

More countries still interested

Executive Supervisor Vladislav Yakovlev was thrilled with the number of countries, and revealed that more wanted to take part: "Eurovision Young Musicians received a lot of interest in 2014, and actually we have had to make a 'waiting list' for a couple of countries after we hit the maximum of 14. Whilst we're sorry that they cannot be in Cologne, I am very pleased and excited to see so much enthusiasm for this year's competition".

The live final of Eurovision Young Musicians 2014 takes place in Cologne on 31 May. 

Share this story