Poland's Łukasz Dyczko wins Eurovision Young Musicians 2016.
18, 19 & 23 August 2018
In partnership with
Edinburgh International Festival

Poland's Łukasz Dyczko wins Eurovision Young Muscians 2016!

Poland's Łukasz Dyczko has been crowned the winner of Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 in Cologne, Germany.

Posted 4 September, 2016, 22:00

Congratulations to Poland's Łukasz Dyczko, winner of Eurovision Young Musicians 2016. The 18th edition of the competition was a spectacular show, broadcast live from the heart of Cologne. 11 young musicians from all around Europe participated in one of the biggest classical music competitions in the world. Robert Bílý representing the Czech Republic was awarded second prize whilst Dominik Wagner representing Austria took third prize.

Speaking after the show, Łukasz Dyczko said that he did not expect to win and was thrilled to have such an experience. "It was not my goal. My goal was to feel the same as the audience, to connect. I think that's the most important thing for a musician", he said. Łukasz added that Eurovision Young Musicians gave him a unique experience and that he made many friends over the course of the competition.
Each of the 11 participants performed their respective pieces of music which were judged by a five-person professional jury. In a change to the format from previous years, there were no semi-finals in 2016, instead all the competitors automatically qualified for the Grand Final.
During the programme, jurors commented on each of the performances, adding to the interaction during the show.
Eurovision Young Musicians is held every two years, the host city for the 2018 edition will be announced next year. Over the coming weeks and months we will be keeping you up to date with the latest news from the contestants of the 2016 event as well as previous years.
You can re-watch all the performances from Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 on the official YouTube channel.
Share this story
About this image
Poland's Łukasz Dyczko wins Eurovision Young Musicians 2016. © Thomas Hanses (EBU)