18, 19 & 23 August 2018

Thank you for watching!


Throwback Thursday: Eurovision Young Musicians in the 90s

Warsaw Philharmonic Concert Hall
Warsaw Philharmonic Concert Hall
Photo by: Warsaw Philharmonic
Posted 21 June 2018 at 10:16

This summer, the nineteenth edition of Eurovision Young Musicians will take place in Edinburgh's Usher Hall. Musicians from all over Europe will compete for the title of Eurovision Young Musician 2018. Today, we look back on all previous editions that took place in the 90s in Vienna, Brussels, Warsaw and Lisbon.

Eurovision Young Musicians was hosted all across Europe in the 1990s. From east to west and from north to south, over seventy young musicians travelled to one of the host cities to give it their absolute best.
Musikverein in Vienna, Brahms-Saal
Musikverein in Vienna, Brahms-Saal © Wolf-Dieter Grabner

1990: Vienna

The fifth Eurovision Young Musicians final was held at Musikverein in Vienna, Austria on 29 May 1990. Musicians from five countries participated in the televised final and were accompanied by the Austrian Radio Symphony Orchestra under the leadership of Pinchas Steinberg.
A total amount of eighteen countries participated on this year's competition, but only Austria, Belgium, France, Germany and the Netherlands made it to the final. Greece and Portugal made their début at the contest.
Niek van Oosterum from the Netherlands won the contest in 1990, playing Concert for Piano and Orchestra a-minor op. 16 by Edvard Grieg on the piano.

1992: Brussels

After Vienna, Eurovision Young Musicians travelled to the Cirque Royal in Brussels, Belgium where the sixth edition of the contest took place on 9 June 1992.
A total of eight countries, out of thirteen participating countries, made it to the final and all young musicians performed with the Belgian National Symphony Orchestra directed by Ronald Zollman. The eight countries that made it to the final were Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Norway, Poland, Spain and the United Kingdom.
Bartłomiej Nizioł from Poland won the contest, with Spain's Antonio Serrano and Belgium's Marie Hallynck placing second and third respectively.
Warsaw Philharmonic Concert Hall
Warsaw Philharmonic Concert Hall © Warsaw Philharmonic

1994: Warsaw

The Final of the seventh Eurovision Young Musicians contest took place in the Philharmonic Concert Hall of Warsaw, Poland, on 14 June 1994.
A grand total of 24 countries took part in this edition, but only Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Latvia, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom made it to the Final. All young musicians performed a classical piece of their choice accompanied by the Warsaw Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Jerzy Katlewicz.
The UK's Natalie Clein won, with Latvia's Liene Circene and Sweden's Malin Broman placing second and third respectively.

1996: Lisbon

The 2018 Eurovision Song Contest wasn't the first time Portugal hosted a Eurovision Live Event, as the eighth edition of Eurovision Young Musicians took place on 12 June 1996 at the Centro Cultural in Lisbon.
Austria, Estonia, France, Germany, Latvia, Poland, Norway and Switzerland made it to the Final, but 14 other competing countries, including host country Portugal, unfortunately did not.
The young musicians performed on stage with the Portuguese Symphony Orchestra, directed by Luis Izquierdo.
Germany's Julia Fischer won the contest, with Austria's Lidia Baich and Estonia's Hanna Heinmaa placing second and third respectively.
Rathausplatz in Vienna, stage to Eurovision Young Musicians in 1998, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012
Rathausplatz in Vienna, stage to Eurovision Young Musicians in 1998, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012 © EBU

1998: Vienna

On 4 June 1998, Eurovision Young Musicians travelled back to Vienna, Austria where musicians from Austria, Croatia, Finland, Latvia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden and the United Kingdom were selected to perform in the televised Final. This edition marks the first time that a country hosts Eurovision Young Musicians for the second time. But this time, the Rathausplatz was the stage for the partaking young musicians.
A total of thirteen countries joined the competition and took to the stage with the Vianna Radio Symphony Orchestra, under the leadership of Dennis Russell Davies.
Austria's Lidia Baich participated again and won the contest this time, with Croatia's Monika Leskovar and the United Kingdom's Adrian Spillett placing second and third respectively.
Do you want to know more about the history of Eurovision Young Musicians? Stay tuned, next week we will tell you everything about the contest in the 2000s.
Josianne Zwart
Throwback Thursday19901992199419961998ViennaBrusselsWarsawLisbon
Share this story
Warsaw Philharmonic Concert Hall
Photo by: Warsaw Philharmonic
Josianne Zwart